The Stayers’ Hurdle

The Stayers Hurdle is a constituent race of the Cheltenham Festival that takes place on the third day. This Grade 1 race is open to horses of four years or older. It is a left-handed track race sponsored by Paddy Power, run on a turf surface. The race covers a 4785-metres distance and winners are awarded a cash prize of € 325,000 beginning 2019.

The Grade 1 race is the top long-distance hurdle race in the National Hunt calendar. While running, the horses involved jump over twelve hurdles. The Cheltenham Racecourse is the track that hosts the long-distance horse race.


The hurdle race first took place in 1912 and covered a distance of three miles at the Prestbury Park with the winner taking home a cash prize of £100 which later doubled in the following year. At the time, it was referred to as the Stayers Selling Hurdle.

For some years, the Stayer’s Hurdle was dropped from the Cheltenham Festival, from 1928 to 1929 and the other time from 1939 to 1945. Later in 1946, the race was back under the sponsorship of Lloyds Bank. It acquired its current name in 1972 though in 2005 it changed the name to World Hurdle after Ladbrokes became their sponsor at the time until 2015. Sun Racing currently sponsors the Grade 1 race.

Different people and horses hold various records. The most successful horse in the event’s history is Big Bucks who won the title a creditable four times starting in 2009 and the following years of 2010/ 2011/2012. Retired Irish jockey Ruby Walsh has the most wins with five. He won it with Big Bucks consecutively from 2009 to 2012 and, in 2017, clinched the championship with the help of Nicholas Canyon. Paul Nicholls sits at the peak of trainer stats with four wins.